Valentine’s Day Fail

Due to some unforeseen circumstances, Valentine’s Day this year is (for the most part) a bust.  It’s really no one’s fault (except maybe mine, for not asking first?), but what has happened, has happened.  I know it’s also just another day of the year, so it doesn’t really matter… except part of it… well… let me just get straight to the point.

Fail #1.  I made us dinner reservations at Gordon Biersch about a month ago, which I’ve been looking forward to (and so has M.), but now my poor future-hubby is miserably sick and barely has an appetite, not to mention a lack of taste-bud functionality.  So to take him to a microbrew where 1) he won’t really want to drink because he doesn’t feel well and 2) he couldn’t really enjoy the taste of the beer even if he did drink it, would be kind of cruel.  As of last night, he insisted he could still go, and then as of this morning he said, “Don’t cancel our reservations yet.”  So I think it’s just a matter of time before he realizes the restaurant will always be there and it’s better we just stay in tonight.

Fail #2.  As a Valentine’s Day gift to M., I purchased him sweet tickets to the March 31st Washington Nationals season opener (7 rows up from the dugout).  Of course, after purchasing these not-cheap tickets, I was informed that M. will be traveling back to New Mexico for some required training on none other than March 31st.  Sigh.  Talk about disappointing.  He said maybe he could switch around his travel dates, but I’m not holding my breath.  So now it’s either re-sell the tickets, or find someone who wants to go with me.  So this is the part that I probably should’ve asked him prior to making such an expensive purchase and it totally matters that he can’t be there on that day and it kind of does really suck.  Ugh.  Valentine’s Day gift bust.

Now there was one success of our Valentine’s Day, and that was M.’s gift to me… a gift certificate for a full body massage at Nusta Spa in DC… yes, please!  M. is so good to me.  Even when he’s a poor pitiful sick little thing, he still takes care of me on good old Valentine’s Day.  So all-in-all, yes, my dinner reservations probably won’t happen, and yes, there’s a good chance he won’t be able to use his gift, but at least my heart was in the right place!  And like I said, it is just another day on the calendar.

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day! I love you 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

