Scared of a Good Thing

I’m scared to admit this (or even begin to let myself get excited about it), but I have lost five pounds in the last two weeks. I am seriously wondering if it’s a joke or something and almost just waiting for those five pounds to just creep back onto my belly one by one; but at the same time I’m starting to get excited that my diet is actually working. I’ve never really dieted before in my life. I’ve always said, “I want to lose weight” or made pathetic attempts at “dieting,” but I’ve never seen results. There have been a few times I’ve lost some weight in my life, the main one being when I graduated from college and dropped 20 pounds in about six weeks. But that was just a drastic life change, not really a diet. I moved home, started eating home cooked meals, stopped snacking at midnight, stopped drinking Starbucks coffee 3-4/week, stopped going to Chipotle/Chick-Fil-A/Panda Express for lunch on a weekly basis and cut down my beer intake by about 95%. Oh and by the way, the guy I was crazy about moved away and I didn’t know when I was going to see him again (or if I was going to see him again). Like I said, not really planned, just sort of happened.

So the diet I’m on now is the first time I’ve ever followed a plan, and so far, so good! The plan I’ve chosen is by Jillian Michaels (one of the trainers on The Biggest Loser). Kind of random how it all came about. I saw on a eizzil’s blog (or maybe Facebook status?) that she was doing the 30-Day Shred by Jillian Michaels. Having no clue what that was, I did a little research and discovered that (I’m guessing as a New Year’s promotion) Jillian Michaels was offering her 30-Day Shred workout DVD, along with 30 days of access to her online meal program and her book for just $14.95. Fifteen bucks? Seriously? How could I not take a chance for that much? I mean, all those other plans (Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, etc.) are like hundreds of dollars a month and seem overwhelming to me. But this seemed to fit my life. It’s not focused on people who need to make drastic life changes and drop 50+ pounds; this particular plan is targeting people who just need to lose those last 10-20 pounds. She even claims if you follow her plan, you can do it in 30 days. I don’t know how I feel about that, and I’m not really pressed to drop that much that fast, but I do like her process. It’s a 20 minute workout (which leaves pretty much every part of my body burning after the fact) and a healthy food plan. She provides a bunch of options, with recipes and even grocery lists. You just pick what you want to eat and then follow the menu you’ve created. So for example, I eat cereal and berries for breakfast. I get something like a chicken wrap or a turkey sandwich for lunch with a side like carrots and hummus. Then I get one snack, which can be anything from cottage cheese and blueberries to peanut butter on graham crackers to a pear and some greek yogurt. And for dinner I eat some sort of meat (pork, chicken, steak, etc.) with two sides like roasted cauliflower and a sweet potato. It’s not a crazy change – it’s just eating healthier and eating less.

Now, I’m not gonna say the whole “eating less” part is easy. My body is accustomed to getting to eat whatever it wants whenever it wants (not that that doesn’t leave my mind feeling completely guilt ridden, but that’s how it goes). So controlling my hunger is probably the hardest part. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve definitely slipped. Yesterday I ate a 90 calorie Snickers ice cream bar. I felt like such a cheat afterward. I really should just throw those stupid things away (they were purchased prior to the decision to go on a diet), but I hate to throw away perfectly good ice cream that M. will eat when he gets home. They’ll just be sitting in the fridge, staring at me between now and February when he gets back. I digress. So the food is filling, it’s just not as much as I was eating prior (obviously, that’s how I’m gonna lose weight, lol). And it’s not like I intend to stay on this Jillian Michaels diet plan for the rest of my life. My goal is to just eventually change the way I think about food and to make healthier decisions in the future. I mean, yes, the real motivation behind this whole thing is to lose weight before my wedding, but if becoming healthier overall and proving to myself that I can do this are two side effects from this whole thing, then I’m quite alright with that!

    • eizzil20
    • January 14th, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m excited for you. I am loving the DVD but haven’t tried her diet info. Glad to hear it’s helpful too. I’m glad there are other ladies out there liking the 30 Day Shred too. Haven’t done my work out for today…guess I should get to it, only 20 minutes right?!

  1. Yeay! I’m so proud of you 🙂 Success is a good motivator, isn’t it??

  2. Stumbled upon your blog. I too am torturing myself with the 30 Day Shred. Today I finished Day 10 on Level 2. I want to die! 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

