“Oh you can make that yourself!”

Planning our wedding has definitely pushed this phrase to new heights.  I’ve pretty much been told I can make everything from our invitations to the centerpieces to the place cards to my veil to the wedding cake all by myself in an effort to save money.  Everyone makes it seem like it’s just that easy, Oh just snap your fingers and it’ll be done!  But all the while, I’m thinking in the back of my head,  when does my time/frustration/aggravation (and potential disappointment because however I made it myself isn’t quite as nice as the original) outweigh the cost of just buying whatever I wanted (exactly the way I wanted it) to begin with?  How much of a discount am I really, truly saving myself?

Now sure, a few of these “DIY-Pushers” I will call them, a few of them have offered to help with these endeavours, but some of them just throw me out to the wolves and peer down at me in a judgmental manner if I even glance in the direction of my credit card.  How dare I not attempt these efforts on my own?  They must be thinking, right?  I mean, I have all the time in the world to just drown myself in wedding DIY projects, right?  It’s not like I have any sort of life outside of my wedding, right?  Because that would just be crazy-talk.  I am a bride.  Wedding is what I do.  Right?

There’s also the other side of the crowd, the Don’t worry, Erin, we understand you can’t do it yourself group of people.  The folks who look down upon me condescendingly because they don’t believe I am capable of such feats and they laugh at me in the back of their minds, Silly Erin, spending money to purchase a wedding cake.  I mean, yes, I am more likely to purchase something rather than making it myself.  What’s wrong with that?  I mean, so “DIY” isn’t my thing.  Why does it have to be?  And why does the fact that it’s not my strength have to be so embarrassing?

And in case you’re wondering, here is just one of the many items I have wanted to purchase, but was told I could make myself instead…

Floral Headband to wear during the Reception

  1. So umm… just curious. Where do I fit into all these categories of DIY-ers?? 😛

    • Emily
    • December 29th, 2010

    That headband is super cute! And psh, if you need help with anything, let me know. I’ve always got extra time on my hands 🙂 Although, I’m only a semi-DIY’er, b/c I’m just lazy the rest of the time.

  2. I recently asked my Dad how much my parents’ wedding cost. It was subtle attempt to find out if they had saved up any money to help me with my wedding someday. (I’m quite certain they did not, by the way.) His answer? “Oh, I’m sure your mother would remember. I think all we paid for was the venue.” Literally, the food was donated, my mom made her bridesmaid dresses, she wore her mom’s gown, and they paid for the venue. He couldn’t remember about the flowers/music (I know there were flowers, I’ve seen the photos), but I’m sure the cost wasn’t much because he’s a Scot, and they’re thrifty. *sigh* I feel you, girl.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

