Who knew O.A.R. fans were such drunkards?

So for our fourth and final concert of our “concert-mania” (4 concerts in 10 days), M. and I went to see O.A.R. at Merriweather Post Pavilion.  O.A.R. has always held a special place for M. and I because Love and Memories came out right when we started dating, so we both got the album, we both liked it a lot, we both listened to it a lot and through the magic of memory, we both began to associate one another with it in the early days of our blossoming relationship.  This was our third time seeing O.A.R., but our first time seeing them in the grand old state of Maryland (which is where the founding members of O.A.R. grew up), so we had high hopes that this show would be special.

Well, depending on your definition of “special” (and how drunk/high you were that night), I guess they delivered?  M. and I got there on time, but quickly realized the thing to do in Maryland is evidently get there hours beforehand and tailgate.  We also got there sober, and with the intention of staying sober – which we again quickly realized was going to put us in the minority.

I have never seen quite so many high/drunk people at a concert (clearly, I’ve never been to a Jimmy Buffett concert before).  They were every where!  Stumbling around the food tents, throwing up in the bathroom, smoking up under the pavilion, falling over on the lawn.  EVERY WHERE.  It was actually pretty distracting for me, unfortunately, but I’m sure they were all having a great time.  And all of that wasn’t helped by the fact that I had no clue who the opening act was (Citizen Cope?), and was not impressed by his music.  I think it was one of those acquired taste things, but all I could focus on was the fact that he looked like the caveman from the Geico commercials, which was (again) distracting.

See the resemblance??  Anyway, finally O.A.R. came out, and they were great.  Probably the best performance of the three I’ve seen.   We were center stage, which was nice, and a little far back, but no one was blocking our view, so it didn’t matter.  Unfortunately, the crowd really affected my whole experience.  I mean, if everyone hadn’t been quite so freakin’ drunk and annoying as all hell, I would probably have a better time overall, but alas, that’s how the cards were dealt that night.

We were able to purchase the performance right after the concert on this bracelet/thumb drive thingy, which was cool, because we really did enjoy the music.  However, if you go to their website, you too can buy the performance from that night for the great price of $9.99.  So basically, what we could’ve done, was save ourselves the $85+ for tickets, the 2 hour roundtrip drive up to Merriweather and back, the ridiculous heat exhaustion and the irritation from the drunkards and simply purchased the album for a whopping $10 after the fact.  Le sigh.  You live and learn.  But seriously, I do love O.A.R., and I’ll consider going to see them again if they come back to town.  Maybe.  But if you’re not a diehard fan, and not into getting wasted, I wouldn’t necessarily recommend paying to go see them.  Just buy the live album after the fact and sit at home in the air conditioning, and you’ll probably be much happier you did.

  1. Every time I go to a concert, I want to punch the drunk people there in the face. At the Foreigner show a few weekends ago, there was a woman who was so trashed and so obnoxious, I seriously considered going up to security to remove her. It’s unbelievably distracting to everyone else there — and I’m always sober — and basically… um, makes me want to kill.

    It’s in my Top 10 Pet Peeves Of All Time: Annoying, Ridiculous Drunk People At Concerts.

    And just like we could save money by buying the concert performance and watching it at home, they could save some serious coin by getting drunk in their own living rooms with their loser friends. Or call us ahead of time so we know they won’t be at the show, and then we can all have a good night!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

