Dear Something Corporate,

I don’t know how to review your show at the 9:30 club last night.  There were so many ups and, unfortunately, a few downs (some of which were your fault, some of which were not).  I guess I just had such excitement, that to have any downs at all is a bit disheartening to me.  But in an effort to end this letter to you on a high note, I guess I’ll start with the bad.  So here is what wasn’t your fault – the two tools standing in front of me.  The two tools who not only proceeded to yell back and forth to each other during every ballad (which, in case you are unaware, are by far my favorite part of your performance), they also continually leaned over to make comments back and forth to each other during ALL of the songs, which annoyingly obstructed my view.  Arg.  And to top it all off, they were drinking so freakin much they were constantly interrupting me by squeezing by me to either 1) buy more beer or 2) pee.  Ugh.  They got so unstable by the end, one of them even completely fell backwards into M.  Not cool.  We eventually (I’d say 2 songs before the encore), moved ourselves all the way to the back because they were just SO unbearable.

Now, the part that was your fault (sort of)… was the 30 minute break in the middle of the concert to fix your piano.  Sigh.  I’m torn by the whole thing.  Part of me feels bad that this happened, because I imagine it was pretty embarassing for you, part of me feels angry that your piano isn’t just of a higher quality so it doesn’t break, part of me feels like you were just whining, and really, the show could’ve gone on without fixing it and we (the fans) would’ve been non-the-wiser, and part of me appreciates the standard you keep for the show you give to your adoring (paying) fans.  But yes, no matter what I feel, or who’s fault it was, it pretty much sucked.  The show was going along great, everyone was hyped up and loving it, and then, the piano broke.  Then you started pacing.  Then the fans started getting nervous.  Then 15 minutes into the attempt to fix it, came the announcement that they would be replacing the part and there’d be a brief “break” to do so.  Sigh.  You came back strong, which was good, however, you never apologized, which made me a little sad.  You did thank us for being so patiet (which, what other choice did we have?), but you didn’t really apologize.  I guess the whole thing couldn’t have been handled much differently, but it just made me a little sad.  And poor M., who didn’t even know the music to begin with and on a scale from 1-10 was already only having a 6 show, yeah, his experience pretty much plummeted at that point.

All that being said, there were good moments.  Like whenever you’d stand on your piano it brought me back to the first time I saw you, five years ago, jumping up and down on the keys and standing on the top of the whole thing singing your heart out.  Now, granted, your piano was covered in stickers back then and was probably half the cost of your current piano, but hey, at least that one didn’t break?  Aww, that was mean.  Moving on, more good moments include Me and the Moon and Space and Punk Rock Princess and Cavanaugh Park (oh how I love Cavanaugh Park).  And Konstantine.  Beautiful beautiful Konstantine.  The one song M. actually knows.  Even if you waited until the encore, it doesn’t matter, you sang Konstantine.  It brought chills to me just to hear it live.  I’m not sure what’s really different, just something about hearing the passion coming straight from you made it all the more of an amazing song for me.  So thank you for that.

So now, Something Corporate, I’m gonna give it to you straight.  Your music is special to me, and I will always hold you very close to my heart and think of you fondly, no matter what happened last night.  But something happened last night.  Last night your performance left me wishing for more.  Maybe it’s me, maybe I’m getting older and the whole standing in a crowd after a full day of work, being shoved every 2 minutes, having beer split on me, while my feet hurt and I have to look over/around two d-bags in front of me who won’t shut the hell up and appreciate the music just isn’t my thing anymore?  Maybe if I’d been front row, and it just felt like it was me and you there, maybe then I would’ve been happier?  Maybe if the piano hadn’t broken?  Maybe?  Maybe when the room is empty | Maybe when the bottle’s full | Maybe when the door gets broke down | Love can break in?  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Until we meet again.  Yours truly, Erin

  1. I’m sad that I won’t be able to see them on Monday when they reach my city but I’m also sad to hear that one of their concerts on this tour didn’t go so well. 😦 I’m sorry you had to deal with the piano break. Still wish I could have been there to see them… their music has always held a special place in my heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

