Barenaked Ladies: A Little Bittersweet

Last night M. and I continued our concert craziness with the Barenaked Ladies at Merriweather Post Pavilion.  Now, when I purchased these tickets, I was unaware that Steven Page (co-founder of BNL) had departed from the band.  So learning that fact about a week prior to the concert definitely had me a little skeptical.  Was the show going to be as good?  Would they still play the songs he sang lead on?  Would the energy still be there?

Well, the show was awesome.  In terms of music, I really didn’t even notice Page was missing because Ed Robertson (the other co-founder of BNL) did such an amazing job of picking up all the songs and giving them the same energy that BNL always had.  I will say Robertson looked a little older (maybe a little more worn down?) than I remember him from the 90’s, but I guess we all look a little older than we did in the 90’s.  The rest of the band was great too – always talking amongst themselves between songs and truly entertaining the crowd.  Even if I didn’t know a song, I was still 100% enjoying myself, unlike other concerts I’ve been to where if I don’t know the music, I don’t have as much fun.  Oh, and they sang The Old Apartment so I was happy. 🙂

So I said “in terms of music” I didn’t notice Page’s absence, but in terms of the concert as a whole, it was definitely a little bittersweet to watch.  I couldn’t help but feel a little twinge of sadness like something was missing the whole time.  Everything I’ve read says the band parted ways with Page mutually for him to “pursue a solo career” (of course, months after his arrest for possession of cocaine).  But it really seems like they’re trying to show a solid front, like they all made the decision together, so I’d like to believe there shouldn’t be sadness associated with the whole thing.  “Like to believe” being the key phrase there, though, because when you hear them sing You Run Away with lyrics like “You run away | You could turn and stay | But you run away from me | I tried to be your brother | You cried and ran for cover” and “I’ll give you something you can cry about | One thing you should try it out | Hold a mirror shoulder high | When you’re older look you in the eye” you can’t help but think there’s something a little deeper going on there.  So yeah, twinge of sadness.

All that being said, I really think they put on a great show and I had a lot of fun.  The three 24 oz Shock Tops I drank might’ve also contributed to my great time (and my current hangover) but pssh, minor details!  Lol.  So seriously, if you ever have a chance to see BNL, definitely don’t pass it by, and don’t be skeptical, and you won’t be disappointed – I promise. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

