Right where you start tonight…

So last night M. and I saw the Goo Goo Dolls along with Switchfoot and The Spill Canvas at Pier 6 in Baltimore.  I’d never been to Pier 6 before, but it’s basically a big tent set up by the water, so it was a pretty sweet venue that I’d definitely go back to.  The show was really good, too, and I was surprised with how many Goo Goo Dolls songs I actually knew.  Switchfoot was also a great show (the lead singer climbs all through the crowd, which is cool).  The Spill Canvas was fine for an opening band that I’d never heard of; nothing really amazing that makes me want to run out and purchase their album, but fine to listen to while waiting for Switchfoot and the Goo Goo Dolls.

Now for two random fun facts from the show…

1)  We randomly had seats two rows behind a friend of mine that I went to middle school, high school and college with.  What’re the odds???

2)  I discovered the lyrics to Broadway (which, in my defense, I did not know was the title of the song) are actually “Broadway is dark tonight” not “Right where you start tonight.”  I have literally been singing that song wrong for the last ten years!  Mid-concert it was definitely weird trying to adjust to these newfound lyrics; deep down I definitely wanted to rebel and sing the old comfortable lyrics I knew, but alas, I conformed.  And now, my friends, Broadway has been stuck in my head ever since…

  1. Another fun, random fact for you: “Broadway” is about Buffalo! Or, rather, a street in Buffalo. A place in Buffalo. Something to that effect. The Goo Goo Dolls are from there, and Lord knows I know a lot about Buffalo. (And am flying there in three weeks. What are the odds?)

    Glad you had a great time! We’re talking about going to see Train, the Backstreet Boys and Hanson (yes, yes, I know!) there in a few weeks… are there actual seats, or is it a free-for-all? And which friend?! 🙂 Initials are OK, you know, if you don’t want to put their business in the streets!

  2. Reminds me of some other songs that you didn’t “really” know the words to (thanks to some big-sister censoring). Teehee 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

