I always catch the clock, it’s 11:11 now you wanna talk

Being a daily metro rider, I am also now a daily Express reader.  I won’t sit here and tell you it’s the best periodical out there, but it’s there, it’s free and it keeps me entertained (most of the time).  So my daily routine tends to be I grab an Express at L’Enfant and then read it on my shuttle ride into work and then end up throwing it on my desk at work.  Well the other day, it just happened to fall open on an advertisement, but not just any advertisement, no, it fell open on the 9:30 Club upcoming show’s advertisement.  So in a moment of weakness and boredom at my desk, my eyes began to wander down the list and there it was – right there in bold black print – An Evening with Something Corporate.  I literally had to take a double take because I didn’t believe my hazel eyes.  Something Corporate!  Now, I’m sure 95% of you out there haven’t even heard of Something Corporate, but Something Corporate changed me.  Their lyrics made me the person I am today.

I first heard the band sophomore year of college when I was aimlessly wandering around the University of Maryland’s Art Attack festival and received a free copy of their live album, Live at the Fillmore.  I took the album home and my roommate instantly ooed-and-ahhed in total jealousy of my newly acquired music, so I figured I’d at least give it a try.  Now, this was not love at first sound – no, I’d say it was more like a lot of like at first sound.  The love didn’t come until about a year later, during the Spring of 2005, when I was living in California and Straylight Run (another band I’m sure 95% of you haven’t heard – unless your initials are R.S. – then you’ve probably heard of them), they came to perform at the school I was attending, along with Something Corporate and two other bands that I don’t even remember (I wanna say The Academy Is… was there, but they underwhelmed me), so I enthusiastically bought my ticket, along with two of my roommates and we attended the concert.  Well Something Corporate was playing last, so with three bands prior, it made for a very long concert, and my roommates were ready to go half way through, so I almost caved and left with them, but something in me made me stay, and I am so happy I did, because it was that night that I heard Konstantine for the first time ever.

Konstantine is easily the biggest lyrical love of my life.  It’s 9 minutes and 36 seconds of music that just speaks to my soul; lyrics sung alongside piano music that has melted my heart from day one.  If it’s possible to be in love with a song, I am in love with Konstantine.

Shortly after my first live Something Corporate experience, to my great dismay, Something Corporate decided to take a break and go be individuals for awhile, which is fair – I guess.  From there Andrew McMahon (lead singer of Something Corporate), went off to start Jack’s Mannequin (another great band), which sufficed, for awhile, but was really no Something Corporate.  I even was lucky enough to see Jack’s Mannequin when they opened for O.A.R. in Norfolk, VA, which was sweet, but again, no Something Corporate.  Something  Corporate now only existed on my iPod.

Until that fateful day that I opened my Express and all my dreams came true!  Something Corporate is touring again – and they’re coming to me!  My hands were literally shaking as I purchased my tickets (fearful they’d already sold out), but the musical Gods were on my side that day, and I was able to purchase two tickets (one for me, and one for the boy – who now also loves Konstantine thanks to yours truly).  So on August 10th I will there with Something Corporate, grinning from ear to ear, falling in love all over again.

  1. Hooray! So glad you were able to snag tickets. I’ve never heard of Something Corporate but do love Jack’s Mannequin, so I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t know that — and I’m such a bad fan. I’ll definitely seek out “Konstantine”!

    I know exactly what you mean about music that speaks to your soul — John Mayer is like that for me. I can’t listen to “Split Screen Sadness” or “In Repair” without my breath catching in my throat. Seeing him play live is my own version of religion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

