Self Appraisal

It’s the middle of March, and for my job, that means self appraisal time.  I never really thought much of the fact that my company uses the phrase “Self Appraisal” until a month or so ago.  I was talking to M. and dropped it into the conversation, “Blah blah blah my self appraisal is coming up blah blah blah.”  Mid-sentence, M. cut in, “Self appraisal?  Your company seriously calls it a self appraisal?  Like you’re a piece of furniture or something and they’re appraising how much you’re worth?”  Oh.  Well, after he put it that way, I couldn’t help but say, “Yeah… I guess so.”

So the time has come for me to appraise myself, and then have my company appraise me and at the end of the whole process learn exactly how much I’m worth.  Awesome.

I will say, over the years, the self appraisal portion of my job has gotten somewhat easier to me.  The first year (when you start from scratch), there’s always that fear of, What the hell am I doing?  But as the years (and appraisals) go by (all 3 of them), I’ve learned to better prepare myself by actually keeping track of my work throughout the year.  Now, I can’t say the looming question of, How much am I really worth? isn’t there this year, but at least I feel slightly more in control of my appraisal destiny.  Slightly.

  1. Yikes! I can imagine self-appraisals are pretty scary. I’ve only had to complete one thing along those lines since I got my job, and that was when the company was “restructuring”… so, basically, I was justifying why I should even have a job. Nice. Needless to say, it went well… as I’m still employed, haha. Eek. Good luck, friend! 🙂

  2. I’m sure you’ll be fine — especially since you keep track of your work throughout the year. That’s smart!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

