We bare our souls and tell the most appalling secrets

These days, for my friends and myself, life is busy.  Trying to schedule a simple dinner can take weeks and a double date – damn near impossible.  And it’s these days, that things are really starting to happen to us, things that are serious, like engagements, marriages, adult dating (very different from high school/college dating), the talk of babies, medical issues we’ve never had to deal with (and definitely never had to deal with without our Mom’s close by), having careers to nourish (not just jobs to show up at), purchasing our own homes, living with boys… you pick anything in that list I just named, and I have at least two friends going through it as we speak.  I hate to throw in the old cliché idea of when did we get so old? but I do feel like responsibility just sort of crept up on us, and now we’re there, without a guide book, with merely our own common sense and our friends who are dealing with the same issues to lean on.  Don’t get me wrong, we all have our families too, most of them just a phone call away, if not closer, but sometimes, parents just don’t understand (thank you, Will Smith).

I guess I don’t really have a point to this blog, other than to say, I’m here.  I’m here, lost in the woods, completely overwhelmed, without my guide book.  So don’t think you’re alone, and don’t think you have to keep it all to yourself.  In fact, if any of you ever want to escape from the woods and go grab a drink, just let me know, and I’ll be there, because we need to stick together.  We need to rely on one another, and we need to trust in each other that no matter what you’re going through, someone else is going through it too, and lord knows, going at with a good friend close by is a lot easier than going at it alone.

  1. Don’t be such a beetle! You’re not alone (though it does feel that way sometimes, doesn’t it?) Remember: I could NEVER love anyone as I love my sister.

    • Becca
    • April 15th, 2010

    It doesn’t matter if we have all the support in the world sometimes… life is just effing HARD right now. I don’t even know how I’ve lived through this past 9 months. I marvel at how things have changed recently, and I can barely imagine what’s next. I guess what I’m saying is, I feel you girl.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

