February’s One Real Simple Thing

Meal Success!

 

I decided to try out  the “Fettucine with Lima Beans, Peas and Leeks” recipe out of my “Real Simple” magazine for my one real simple thing this month, and overall, I’d say the meal was a success!  Now, I did make quite a few variations on the recipe, for example, I doubled the recipe, used edamame instead of lima beans, used a box of  Rotini and a box of Gemelli instead of Fettucine and threw in chicken, but the sauce/flavor was still the same, and all-in-all it was pretty delicious!  So below is the recipe for the meal I made last night.  Oh, and when I say “I” – what I really mean is, the meal I prepared and C pretty much cooked…what would a girl do without her big sister??  

“Rotini & Gemelli with Edamame, Peas, and Leeks”  Serves 8  

So I was supposed to be the one in the kitchen cooking, but as you can see... that wasn't really the case, lol. Thanks for all the help big sis!!! 🙂

 

1 whole chicken picked and chopped
1 lb Rotini and 1 lb Gemelli (the original recipe called for 12 oz of Fettucine, which was 3/4 of a box, but I was lazy and just threw in two whole boxes (2 lbs), which was way too much pasta, so I’d suggest 1.5 boxes of pasta instead)
1 10-oz package of frozen edamame
1 10-oz package of frozen peas
2 tbsp olive oil
3 leeks (white and light green parts) cut into half-moons (I cut mine super thin, but I think it would have been better with thicker slices)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 1/2 c heavy cream
4 tbsp fresh chopped tarragon (I used dried tarragon)  

1)  Cook the pasta according to the package directions, adding the edamame and peas during the last 2 minutes of cooking.  Drain.
2)  Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the leeks and sason with salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until tender (but not brown), 8 to 10 minutes.  Add the cream and cook until slightly thickened, 3 to 4 minutes.
3)  When the cream is done thickening, add the chicken to heat.
4)  Once the chicken is warm, add the pasta and tarragon to the skillet and toss to combine.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese to taste before serving.  

And voilá!  You now have a meal enough to feed an army (especially if you used the two full pounds of pasta like I did).  Seriously, it fed the six of us last night, I have enough for another four servings and I sent leftovers home with both C&B and M&L.  Lol, it was a lot of food.  

C cooking the leeks... 🙂 Yum!

    • MP
    • February 22nd, 2010

    I haven’t had breakfast yet and your picture was making me hungry even though it wasn’t even morning food. I like the plate pattern.

  1. Thanks for giving me cred! Like I said (ooh I rhymed…) but like I said, cooking with you is fun! We should do it more often. PS: I just ate my leftovers for lunch and they were still YUM-my.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

