Well folks, it’s finally here!

Not my actual first issue, because I couldn't find a picture of it online, but you get the point...

 

It has FINALLY come, my friends, my first issue of Real Simple is here! I subscribed to the magazine weeks and weeks ago and have been waiting patiently for my first issue to arrive in my mailbox, and finally, when I got home after the Snowpocalypse, there it was, waiting for me! Why all the excitement over a magazine you ask?   Well, this is the very first magazine I’ve ever subscribed to all by myself that is delivered to my very own (very adult) address! I mean sure, I have had other magazine subscriptions, like when I was younger and my mother got me a subscription to Teen Magazine, or in my college years, when my boyfriend at the time gave me a two year subscription to Cosmopolitan for my birthday (hoping to get more sexiness out of me?). It might not have been a bad gift idea had he not decided to start completely ignoring me less than two WEEKS later, thereby forcing me to break up with him, and in doing so leaving me with an issue of Cosmo as a reminder of him every month for the next 24 months.  Gee, thanks.  But enough about that, back to my SUPER excitement for Real Simple! So my plan is to take at least one thing out of every issue and make it!  Whether it’s a craft or a meal or an organizing technique or a workout plan or whatever, I just want to use at least one of the tips offered to me from Real Simple and apply it to my life – and then blog about it, of course!  So for “February’s One Real Simple Thing,” I’ve decided to make this delicious-ness for Sibling Dinner this Thursday…  

Fettuccine with Lima Beans, Peas and Leeks

Now, I will admit, I’m not sticking to the EXACT recipe – I mean, lima beans?  Really?  Who eats lima beans?  I’m thinking edamame will do the trick and taste WAY yummier.  And meat?  Hello, meat… where are you?  I’m thinking some chicken will be a great addition to this meal and make it a bit more satisfying for the men I’ll be serving.  So tonight I’m off to the grocery store to grab a few ingredients, but really, this meal won’t even cost me too much, which is excellent!  Keep an eye out for my follow up blog (which will include the recipe) and how my meal actually turns out!   

Shoot, I’m so excited about my magazine this month, who knows, I might even crank out TWO real simple things for February! 🙂

    • eizzil20
    • February 17th, 2010

    looks yummy. Let me know how you like the magazine, I’m thinking about subscribing to it too.

    • Meg
    • February 17th, 2010

    Um, I cannot help but feel that lima beans were created by the devil and put on Earth to torture us with their disgusting taste and texture! I’m not a picky eater, Lord knows, but lima beans are easily the one food I just CANNOT eat. In fact… I can’t even talk about it anymore. I’m — ick. I’m done, Erin. LOL

    I love your Real Simple idea — and can definitely share in your enthusiasm for getting a mag subscription! 🙂 Too fun. Can’t wait to see what you come up with! Perhaps I’ll join you!

  1. So I’m waiting for the follow-up email! I mean, you did make me wait to eat my dinner so that you could use my plate for your photo ops… AND I’m expecting to see evidence that I helped you to cook. (Not complaining here… actually it’s fun to do that with you)

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

