Hi, my name is Erin and I take the metro to work.

Yes, that’s right folks, I am officially a public transportation commuter – gooo me!  It’s not really an option I personally made, as much as it’s just that there is no parking for the building I work in, unless you have a permit (which I do not), so I pretty much have to metro.  It’s not so bad, though, because I walk 10 minutes to the metro, hop on the yellow line to L’Enfant for 15 minutes and then take a 10 minute shuttle ride to the USCG Headquarters building.  The building I work in is super nice too (at least the floor I work on), it’s evidently newly renovated (like it was finished two months ago), but the other floors are still being worked on.  And as part of this renovation they opened everything up so there is TONS of daylight and a view of the water and it’s just great. 🙂 I don’t really have my own space, persay, it’s sort of shared space, but if I wanted to hang pictures or something I don’t think that’d be a problem.  Anyway, I’ve only been there three days now, but things are going well.  I’m already chin deep in assignments and feel like I’m behind because of it, but that is most likely my own doings.  I do feel a bit of pressure to pick up the program I’m working on quickly – which is a decently complicated program since I have to know the ins and outs of it.  I mean, I get the basics, but I need to know all the madness that goes on behind the basics, and that’s the tricky part.  It’s a different work environment, though, than anything I’ve known, which is kind of nice.  No one is really keeping tabs on me, and as long as I’m getting my stuff done and reachable during my 9 hour work day, I don’t think anyone cares.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I need to be on-site with the customer 3-4 days a week at least, so it’s not like free reign to telecommute or anything, but it’s just nice that I don’t have to notify people a bajillion times and then get approval and then go in circles round and round when I don’t show up and people don’t understand why.  Ugh.  So am I even making sense right now?  I’m seriously pretty stressed lately but reeeally wanted to squeeze in an entry, so I’m kind of writing at lightspeed right now.

Other reasons why I’m so stressed?  Grad school starts tomorrow, which means I have a class that starts tomorrow and then starting next week I’ll be attending class every Monday night from 7-10pm.  Oh, and genius me, I signed up to take a prep course for the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) exam, which I have to do prep work for – yes, I have to do prep work for the prep course.  So new job is stressing me out, grad school is stressing me out and CAPM is stressing me out.  And after I take the prep course, of course, I have to then actually go TAKE the exam.  Ahh!!  At least if I pass (which I say very generously), I’ll be “Ms. Erin, CAPM” – as if anyone will even know what that means.  Ugh.  Why did I do this to myself????

So tonight’s plan is to organize organize organize.  I need to make sure I have everything I need, and that I set out a schedule and read through my syllabi (syllabuses?), and take control of this mess!  I just need to survive this first semester and go from there.  I mean, if it’s too much, then it’s too much and I’ll re-evaluate from there, but I guess I shouldn’t allow myself to be defeated before I’ve even begun – right?  I just seriously don’t know how I’m going to have any sort of life outside of work, studying for the CAPM and school for at least the next month. 😦 Okay, this blog is even stressing me out now because I know it’s already 630pm and I haven’t started organizing!  On the upside, at least I can check off the “update blog” item on my list?

  1. First: Darnnit! I’ve tried to figure out a clever way to say my first thought, but I can’t because I don’t want to go and give away your last name on the internet. Pooey! But you’ll get the idea when I say that you’re a B and that’s why you do this to yourself (and no I don’t mean bitch) :-p

    Second: Don’t negative project! I’m sure you’ll be fine, and you’ll figure out what you need to do for you!

    Hang in there 🙂

  2. Oh no! Quite busy and sounding stressed, but your new job sounds great. Working independently is one of the greatest gifts we could ever get from an employer, haha. I love not having a boss standing over my shoulder… because, um, if I did? I probably wouldn’t be able to write this comment. LOL.

    You’re going to do really well — good luck at your first class! Don’t worry about what will happen a few months from now… just focus on one thing at a time. You’ll get organized and be very successful, I know it! And if not? Lots of RAW! poetry can come from it! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

